Chapter 1.13

1

Finally, the months of living in a hotel were at an end. I walked through doors of my modern dream home and could almost cry I was so pleased with it. Everything about it was exactly what I had always wanted.

Beside me, Huy wasn’t so impressed. He looked around the large living room and scrunched up his face. “Well, this is…”

I rolled my eyes at him. “It’s contemporary, Huy. You’ll learn to love it.” And if not, I’d just settle for shutting up about it. I wanted an equal partnership and all that, but this was my house and I loved it.

“As long as you’re happy, I’m happy.” He drew me into his arms. “I can’t wait for our wedding.”


The date had been set as soon as the contractors confirmed they were nearly finished with the house. It was now just one month until I would be married to Huy. If I said I wasn’t anxious about it, I’d be lying.

2

Thanks in no small part to my meticulous planning, the wedding went off without a hitch (not that Huy didn’t argue over having an evening wedding). I allowed his bitch sister Octavia to be there, so I wasn’t going to compromise on that front.

3

When I said “I do” and kissed Huy for the first time as his wife, I felt an immense weight lift from my shoulders. I had done it. I didn’t have to worry about it anymore. We were married.


09-10-15_2-11 AM

A few months later, I was working on a game in my office – my office! – when Huy came in and wrapped his arms around my shoulders. “What are you doing, beautiful?”

I smiled. “I’m working on Witchly II. What are you doing?”

He kissed my neck. “Actually, I was hoping we could talk a little.”

09-10-15_2-14 AM

I arched a brow but agreed and we went into the living room. “I was thinking that now would be a good time to start trying to start a family.”

“Now? We’re barely married.”

“Maybe, but we’ve been together for five years. I want to start our family, Camille, don’t you?”

I wanted to tell him no, I wasn’t ready, but he was right. It wasn’t exactly rushing things to get pregnant now. And this was what I wanted. I wanted to have my own family, my own child. Despite my misgivings, I smiled and said, “You know, it really is a good idea. I can’t wait to start trying.”


4

I woke up with a sick roiling feeling in my stomach. I wanted to roll over and go back to sleep to wait the nausea out, but my bladder wouldn’t have that, so I got up and padded to the bathroom. Before I could sit down, the roiling in my stomach reached its peak and I emptied the contents of my stomach into the toilet.

“Watcher,” I said miserably, sitting down on the cool tile. What had I eaten last night? The tacos had seemed…In a rush, I had a realization. I didn’t have food poisoning. I had morning sickness.

Both hopeful I was and hopeful that I wasn’t pregnant, I rushed to the cabinet and took out one of the pregnancy tests I’d bought at the drug store. The supply was pretty depleted by now; Huy and I had been trying for months to get pregnant.

5

I took the test and waited. And waited. And waited. It seemed like an eternity. Finally, I looked at the stick…and saw a little pink plus sign.

I was pregnant.

I felt excited and scared, but I couldn’t wait to tell Huy. I left the bathroom and checked the time. Eleven AM. “Damn,” I muttered. Huy was already at work. I’d have to wait until he got home this evening.

All day, I had a smile on my face. I had had (and still did have) my apprehensions about this, but they apparently weren’t enough to dampen my good mood this morning. The thought of having a baby did make me happy; it was just change that I had never been good with. Take, for example, my reticence in moving in with and marrying Huy. Once it was over and done with, it wasn’t such a big deal. It would be the same now, I was sure of it.

6

For dinner I made taco casserole and had it ready when Huy got home. Seeing me playing at being a housewife always made him happy.

“Camille?” He called as he walked through the door.

7

I came into the living room and wrapped my arms around him. “I’m pregnant!” I’d planned a bit of a lead-up speech, but the words just burst out of me.

8

The biggest smile I’ve ever seen split Huy’s face. “You’re pregnant? Really?” He crushed me against him and held on tight. “Watcher, that’s amazing!” He kissed me and then kissed me a few more times and I couldn’t help but laugh at his excitement.

“Okay, okay,” I laughed, extricating myself from his arms. “I need to breathe. Come on, dinner is ready. We’ll eat and make plans.”

9

We sat down at the table and talked for a while, planning the baby’s room. About half-way through dinner, Huy said, “You know, I hope it’s twins. Two boys or a boy and a girl would be nice.”

Twins?”

He smiled. “Sure, why not? You know I want a big family.”

Again with the “big family” thing. I took a sip of my water. “That might be nice.” Please Watcher, do not let it be twins.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chapter 1.13

  1. theplumbob says:

    I’m not really sure why she married him lol! He seems really pushy, and she doesn’t look like she cares all that much about him at all.

    Liked by 4 people

    • kaffepigen says:

      I agree with this. I can’t see them being together forever. Especially when (if) he finds out she doesn’t want that big family he does. And that would also mean a house renovation, which i feel Camille wouldn’t be too happy about considering she just build her dream house.

      Btw. Where did you get all that beautiful furniture? I could totally use that stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with theplumbob on this one – I can’t believe she actually married him! I don’t understand this whole ‘marriage for the sake of marriage’ behavior…

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      This is, unfortunately, my fault for not delving enough into Camille’s backstory. I mentioned the way her mother was and stuff, but I never really talked about how strongly Camille believed in her plan for herself.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, yes, she is very strict with sticking to her plans. So stubborn and almost…calculating. And as you said – without the backstory that would explain why she is so “cold”, it’s probably hard for me to understand.
        (Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the way you wrote it, it’s very engaging. I caught myself thinking about your characters in school today, haha. )

        Liked by 1 person

        • JoieWilder says:

          Early Camille does have a tendency to be very cold and calculating. She wants what she wants and will take necessary measures to get it. I’m so glad you’re engaged with the characters, though! I’m always thinking about them. In gen 2, I’m trying to be much more thorough with my characters, though I do have a bit of an advantage since you meet most of them as kids!

          Liked by 2 people

  3. Virtualee says:

    “I allowed his bitch sister Octavia to be there…” bahhahaa – and YAY she is pregnant.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JLBDreams16 says:

    I’m up to here. So its following both sisters? This is an interesting story. Neither girl seems to be in a really solid and stable relationship at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hailey says:

    I’m sorry…I don’t like Camille! 😦 I know she’s your founder, but I am liking Hadley and Shirley’s story more right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jes2G says:

    She makes me nervous.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. zefiewings says:

    Everyone is all “I cant believe she is marrying him he is so pushy!”
    pretty sure they are both terrible for each other in general and she kind of started it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      I recently answered some questions about the Thoreau’s and one was about what I would change if I could go back. My answer was that I’d show more of Huy and Camille’s relationship and Camille and Shirley’s. Camille and Huy did have SOME feelings for each other. haha But they really never should’ve gotten married.

      Like

Talk to me

