Slice of Life: Lazy Sunday

11-15-15_4-44-25 PM

—Shirley—

Ah, Sunday, I thought to myself with a smile as I clipped away at the bonsai shrub on the balcony. Recently, I had taken up gardening. I needed something to do with all the free time I had. Being Chief of Staff at the hospital offered me quite a lot of time at home, and, now that the kids were getting to a self-sufficient age, it left me in need of a hobby or two.

I sang quietly under my breath as I trimmed away at the small branches of the bonsai. I wasn’t particularly good at this yet, so I didn’t expect it to shape into much of anything. It was relaxing, though, and it felt good to be out in the fresh air. I spent too much of my time cooped up inside at the hospital.

11-15-15_4-48-07 PM

A short while later, Camille joined me on the balcony.

“What is it supposed to be this time?” She asked with a laugh in her voice.

I looked at the rather sad shape the bonsai had taken and had to laugh. “I don’t know. Poor thing. I’ll let it grow out and try again.” That was the nice thing about the bonsai; whenever I messed up, it would fix itself with a little time.


11-15-15_4-52-01 PM

—Loralee—

Weekends were my favorite parts of the week. It wasn’t really that I minded school; in fact, there were definitely parts of school that I enjoyed. And, yes, Tommy and lunch weren’t the only things on the list.

I smiled to myself as I chopped vegetables. I always felt so creative on the weekends. I finally had the time to experiment with cooking, try new recipes. Maybe for our next date, I could cook for Tommy. The idea was so wonderful, I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of it before.

“What smells so good?” Luc asked, walking over to me at the stove.

11-15-15_4-53-23 PM

“Vegetable tempura. I haven’t tried this recipe before, so I hope it comes out good.”

“Well, it definitely smells good. And I’m still not used to saying that when it comes to your cooking.”

11-15-15_4-54-53 PM

I stuck my tongue out at him. “I haven’t burned anything in a long time.” I ignored his grinning and finished the tempura. “I suppose I need a test subject, so you can have a plate, too.”

“As long as you’re having some. I don’t want to be the only one with food poisoning.” He grinned crookedly at me as we both got our plates. We both ate in silence for a minute, before he nodded at me, shoving food in his face. “This is really good, Loralee.”

I beamed at him. “You think so?”

11-15-15_4-55-22 PM

Mama came into the kitchen, making soft sniffing sounds. “My my, something smells good in here. Loralee, what have you done this time?”

“She made vegetable tempura. It’s good,” Luc said.

Mama smiled at me. “You know, if you keep up like this, I may just make you responsible for all the cooking.”

I flushed under the praise. “I don’t know about that, but thank you.”

She came around the bar and wrapped her arm around my shoulders, giving me a squeeze. “Have I told either of you lately how proud I am of both of you? You’re both a couple of awesome kids.”

Luc huffed softly. “Mama. Don’t go getting mushy.”

She reached over and tousled his hair. “I’m your mother. It’s my job.”

This entry was posted in Slices of Life, The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of Life: Lazy Sunday

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    Aww! Love this household. And yay for cooking and bonsai trimming! ninjapig volunteers to be one of Loralee’s test subjects…any time. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theplumbob says:

    Such a heartwarming chapter. I enjoy seeing Lauralee be so passionate about cooking, it’s not a hobby I would have expected her to pick up and seems to bring out a whole other side of her.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

