Slice of Life: Musings

01-01-16_11-48-02 PM

—Shirley—

I had noticed with age that I’d started rising more easily in the mornings. When I was younger and first starting out at the hospital, it had been a chore to wake up early and trudge to the hospital. I was rather like a zombie in the mornings then; if Hadley ever saw me, I would’ve communicated in nothing but grunts.

Now, however, I felt differently about the mornings. I sat on the back porch and ate my breakfast, looking out on the playground Camille and I had made for the kids. Even though there was a jungle gym right behind the house, Camille had thought it was important to give Loralee, and later Luc, their own space. At the time, I’d thought she was silly, but now I tend to agree with her. It’s important to have one’s own space. Camille has her sanctuary in her office. Mine is upstairs with my somewhat-dubiously acquired bits of medical equipment. Loralee, I believe, has found hers in the kitchen. I wasn’t sure where Luc felt his place was, but no doubt he would find his if he hadn’t already. We all had places that were ours. And that was a good thing.

I smiled into the cool morning air. Perhaps this was my space too. Out here in the morning calmness before the kids wake up for school or Camille drags herself down to the kitchen for something to eat. Yes, I thought. This is my space, too.


This little slice of life also comes with an update. Starting January 4th, I’m going to put the Thoreau’s on a bi-weekly Monday/Thursday update schedule. I’ve got five chapters written now, so hopefully I’ll be able to keep up with this pace. And, to help tide you over, I’ve got another slice of life coming tomorrow.

On Monday, Josh and Alison talk…

 

This entry was posted in Slices of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of Life: Musings

  1. kaffepigen says:

    I liked this. It is very important to have your own space at times. Mine is at my computer with headphones on. The same goes for my boyfriend at his computer with headphones on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cshaner says:

    I really like these slices of life. Not necessarily doing anything to move the stories along, but they are such neat little vignettes into these characters that we love so much. Such a cool idea to share their ‘non-action’ time with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

