Chapter 2.35

Parental-Advisory-Profanity-72dpi

SERIOUS disclaimer for language in this chapter. This chapter may contain more swears than the entirety of generation one. But you guys wanted this chapter, and I am super happy to delivery it to you!


 

1

—Josh—

“I didn’t think it was that bad, honestly!” Okay, yeah, the movie had sucked, but, really, it was no fun if I actually agreed with Nora and Allie.

Nora laughed as we walked out of the cinema. “You’re kidding, right?”

“Were you even in the same theater?”

I rolled my eye at them, barely stifling my grin. “Whatever, you two.”

“I thought you had taste, J – “

2

Nora cut herself off, making me frown and look at her. The blood had drained out of her face. “Nor?” I followed her gaze to a stocky dark haired guy a few feet away, sucking face with a girl who could’ve been Brittney’s doppelgänger.

She jerked her eyes away. “What? Can we go home?”

 

3

I didn’t have to ask for confirmation. I knew who the guy was. “It’s that asshat, Kurt.”

“Let’s just go, please, Josh,” she said quietly, subdued.

I glared over at the guy. Before I was even aware of moving, I had crossed the distance separating me from that piece of shit who knocked my baby sister up and given his shoulder a hard shove. “Are you going to get this girl pregnant, too?”

4

He whirled, his face contorting into a snarl. “Who the hell are you, man? You touch me again, Imma fuck your ass up.”

Considering I had a good twenty pounds on him and almost foot’s height, I wouldn’t bet on that.

He leaned around me. “Oh, hey, Nora. What’d you end up doing? Did you get it sucked out?”

5

I saw red. My hands connected with both of his shoulders, giving him a rough push back, forcing his focus back onto me. “Don’t you fucking talk to her, shitstain.” I shoved him again, stepping into a more aggressive stance. A little voice at the back of my head warned me to stop – as did the camera flashes going off around us. I wasn’t just Josh Yuen, anymore; I was Willow Creek Raven’s pitcher, Josh Yuen. This would going to be on the front page of the paper tomorrow. I ignored that voice. I had been itching to have this fight for months. “How many other kids do you have, huh? How many other baby mama’s have you got?”

6

“You’ve got a kid,” The girl with him threw her hands up. “Bye.”

As she stalked away, Kurt turned on me, finally as pissed off as I felt. Evidently he didn’t get really ticked off until his chance to get laid went away. “Hey, fuck you, man. What I do is none of your fucking business. Get off my dick.”

“It’s my business when it’s my sister whose heart you broke.” I could almost forgive him for getting her pregnant – accidents happened and all. But I couldn’t forgive him for the pain he’d caused her.

7

“I taught her a valuable lesson. Maybe if she’d been better at head – “

My fist connected to his jaw with a loud smack! A starburst of pain ricocheted up my arm, but I only halfway felt it. The anger I’d felt at the faceless shit who’d hurt Nora finally had an outlet, and it was at last able to come pouring out. He shouted and struck at me, hitting me in the chin, but that was the last hit he got in. I’d been boxing for years now, sparring with guys at the gym and practicing on the bag. After the first hit, I avoided his face and let my blows land on the trunk of his body. My last thread of sanity pulled me back…after one final gut punch that left Kurt sagging to the ground.

8

I bared my teeth in a grimace. “I’d be careful filing charges, if I were you. Our father, Police Chief Houston Yuen, is pretty fucking pissed at you, too.” Yeah, it was a dirty card to pull, but I didn’t even care.

Josh.”

I looked back at Alison and Nora. Their faces were white. Nora wasn’t looking at me, but Alison was, with a closed expression. Her lips were tight, and a flush of red was slowly pinking her cheeks. As if she were embarrassed by the attention we were getting.

I turned back to Kurt and looked down at him. I suppressed the urge to give him a swift kick in the ‘nads and finally turned away from him completely. I went over to Nora and wrapped my arm around her shoulders. “Let’s go.” I didn’t even look at the milling bystanders with their phones out and recording. I just led the way to the car.


9

I pulled up outside of the house and stepped out onto the sidewalk. “Nor, you can’t tell Mom about this.” Now that my anger had cooled, I felt a tiny bit of regret – regret that my sister and girlfriend had seen that. I didn’t regret kicking the shit out of that guy’s ass in the slightest. He’d deserved worse. I also felt the tiniest lick of fear – of how Mom would react.

“Josh, she’s going to find out. It’ll probably be on the news,” Alison said quietly. Nora remained silent.

“Shit.” I rubbed my face and then winced. My hand throbbed and my chin didn’t appreciate the attention either. “You’re right.”

“You can’t go in there like that,” Nora said with surprising strength. “You’ve got blood on you.”

She was right. It wasn’t just from my own split knuckles; I’d busted Kurt’s lip, I guess. There was a misting of blood on part of my shirt.

“I’ll tell her what happened. Just expect a really angry phone call when you get home.”

10

I half-smiled and hugged her. “You’re pretty awesome, you know?”

“You are, too,” she whispered softly, just for me to hear. Perhaps now that the shock had worn off, she wasn’t too upset about the beat down Kurt had gotten.

After she had disappeared inside, Alison and I got into the car. The drive home was completely silent. There’s going to be more than one angry woman yelling at me when I get home.

As it turns out, I was right. As soon as we walked into the apartment, Alison rounded on me.

11

“What the fuck were you thinking? You can’t just beat some guy up on the street, Josh.”

Some guy? I rounded on her. “He wasn’t just ‘some guy’, Alison. He was the guy who practically broke my baby sister.”

12

“I don’t care, Josh! That was way over the line.” She paced around the apartment, her heels clicking on the hardwood floor. “And using your dad’s position like that to get out of all the repercussions!”

“Would you like me to go to jail for assault, Allie? You want me to go down to the station and turn myself in?”

She glared at me. “Of course not, but that isn’t my point. It’s one thing to joke about beating him up and selling tickets to it. Haha, it’s very funny. But what you just did was insane. Like you just said – it was assault.”

 

13

I mimicked her, pacing around the kitchen. “If you want me to apologize, I’m not going to.”

“You don’t even regret it?” She asked incredulously.

“Fuck no, I don’t!” With my less-injured hand, I rubbed my eyes. “Look, Alison, I’m sorry you had to see it, but I’m not sorry that it happened.”

14

She ran her hand through her hair. “I don’t even know what to say now.” My phone started ringing in my pocket. She just shook her head and started for the door. “I can’t be here right now. I’m staying at the house tonight. Have fun explaining the fight to your mom.” She walked out of the apartment.

I cursed. I wanted to go after her, but I knew it was my mother on the other end of the incessantly ringing phone. She’d cool down eventually and forgive me. Until then, I had what was probably a very pissed off Hadley Harrison to worry about.

I lifted the phone to my ear and prepared for screaming.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Chapter 2.35

  1. julyvee94 says:

    Yesssss finally hahahaha! Sorry, not sorry. I’m on Josh’s side. Kurt deserved it *feels evil*

    Liked by 4 people

  2. CitizenErased14 says:

    *creeps on this chapter* Yessssss this was so good and satisfying!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Derubelle says:

    Good… goood … *rubs hands evilly*

    Liked by 2 people

  4. peachykeen88 says:

    Well that was a long time coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. maladi777 says:

    I’m totally #TeamJosh now! I remember my first BF never stood up for me and I hated that.
    In case things go south with Alison from now on, tell Josh my simself is available. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      Yay, #TeamJosh! I ❤ Josh. (and Loralee, and Tommy, and Alison, and Nora, and Luc…XD) As for how things will go with Alison *borrows Citizen's announcer voice* you'll just have to stay tuned!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. CitizenErased14 says:

    #TeamCommentingAgainBecauseILoveThisChapter

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Simslover163 says:

    OMG, that was good!!! I loved Josh’s angry expressions! #TeamJosh4Lyfe. Sorry, Kurt.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. theplumbob says:

    Good. I’m with Josh too. If somebody treated my boyfriend’s little sister the way this plumbag did with Nora, I know he would have done the same. I like Alison less and less with every update.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m glad that Kurt got some of what was coming to him, but part of me wants to see him suffer more *evil laughter*. Alison is kind of losing my interest.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. JLBDreams16 says:

    Thanks for including this. Josh humiliating that rotten Kurt was perfectly cathartic.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hailey says:

    About time! That’s a good big brother. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hailey says:

    PS: I get super excited when I see your disclaimers, those are always the best chapters. >:)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. cshaner says:

    Omg omg !!!! I freaking love Josh!!!

    This is how I wanted to see Tobias when he went after Julian for Clara. This just satisfied both of those d-bags in my mind.

    I also loved how he invoked Houstons name too there. Alison can just chill for five minutes. 🙂

    (Still love Alison)

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      😀 Josh HAD to go after Kurt. As a brother and as a vessel for the readers.

      Aw, I’m really glad you love Alison. Most people don’t, unfortunately (though I understand their reasons).

      Like

      • cshaner says:

        I get why some may not. Her not wanting kids is terrible for any kind of future generations for Josh. But as someone whos relationship is built on not having kids I understand being an Auntie but not a mom.

        I also see Alison’s point about Josh beating up a teen. But he didn’t do any permanent damage and the kid needed to learn he cannot just use people. Josh may have at least gave Kurt something to think about.

        Liked by 1 person

        • JoieWilder says:

          Most people dislike her for reasons you’re just getting into in the story. I like her a lot. She reminds me of Camille.

          Like

  14. yay #teamjosh we just need someone to sort out huy now lol

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

