Chapter 2.57

1

—Loralee—

I was in the bedroom picking an outfit when I saw Mama come up to the front door. Though I was happy to see her, I didn’t actually have time for a long visit.

2

I went into the living room and let her in with a smile. “Hey, Mama, what are you doing here?”

“Can’t I just drop in on my only daughter?”

“Of course, but that’s a long drive just to drop in.”

She smiled and stepped further into the living room. “I had lunch with Chastity. I thought you might like to go see a movie or something while I was here.”

“I would, but I can’t today.” I smiled brightly. “It’s my and Tommy’s anniversary.”

3

“Honey,” Mama said with a wry smile. “Four months doesn’t count as an anniversary.”

I snorted softly. “It’s the anniversary of when Tommy and I started dating. It’s been seven years. I think that’s worth a little celebration.”

4

Mama sat down on the sofa and shook her head with wonder. “I can’t believe it’s been that long.”

“Me either.” I sat down next to her.

“So you’re doing something special?”

I nodded. “Well, simple, but special. I’m making a fancy dinner.”

5

Mama reached over and stroked my hair back, a tender smile on her face. “Have I mentioned lately how proud I am of you? I know I fought you on moving out here, but you’ve made such a wonderful life for yourself.”

I flushed softly under her praise. “That means a lot, Mama.”

6

“And that boy of yours – well, I suppose he’s a man now, isn’t he? He’s a good one. You must have spectacular taste, to snap him up when you did.”

I laughed. “Mama! He is a good one, though. I have to agree with you there.”

She stayed for a couple more minutes, made me swear to come over with Tommy for dinner that weekend, and finally left, leaving me to get back to my preparations for that evening.

7

I had just called dinner ready when Tommy walked through the door. Spectacular timing.

He smiled an inhaled deeply. “What is that delicious smell?”

8

“Lobster thermidor.” I walked over and kissed him. “Happy seven year anniversary, Tommy.”

His eyes went soft as he looked at me. “Happy anniversary, Loralee.”

9

He changed out of his work clothes, and we sat down to eat. He could hardly stop raving over how amazing the food was, much to my delight. Then again, I wasn’t sure I could remember making a meal he didn’t seem to enjoy.

10

After dinner, we sat down together on the loveseat where Tommy drew me into his arms. “I don’t think I mentioned today how much I love you.”

“I don’t think you did. You must be slipping,” I teased.

“How inconsiderate of me.” He leaned in to kiss me. “I love you, Loralee Thoreau, more than I ever thought it would be possible to love another person.”

“I love you, too, Tommy Smithson. I wake up everyday with a smile on my face, and it’s always because of you.”

11

We sat there quietly for a little while, simply enjoying being together. Part of me couldn’t believe how lucky I was. The only boy I’d ever dated had turned out to be my soulmate. I have to make sure I remember this, I thought to myself. I have to always feel this grateful and amazed to have this man.

“I went to see Nora yesterday,” I said idly, as I leaned into my husband’s side. “You should go with me next time and see Caleb. He’s so precious.”

Tommy smiled softly. “Have you started to want one?”

12

A gentle smile crossed my face. I had, actually, started to think about the family Tommy and I would have. “A little. But not yet. We’ve only been married four months; I’d like to enjoy being just us for a while longer. Is that okay?” We were still so young; we had a long time ahead of us to raise a family. I wanted just a little while longer to enjoy being newlyweds.

He smiled broadly. “It’s perfect.”

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chapter 2.57

  1. CitizenErased14 says:

    *melts into a pile of #TeamTomalee goo*

    Liked by 3 people

  2. maladi777 says:

    I’m happy these too have a smooth voyage unlike #TeamJolison.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. #TeamTomalee aww *dies of cuteness* (and this is written by the least romantic person ever) they are just so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theplumbob says:

    Aww. Lobster thermidor, eh? Tommy is a lucky man 🙂 I’m glad they’re not rushing with the kids, they’re far too young!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cshaner says:

    I know you’re not Citizen….

    But why did I just have an awful sense of dread at the end there with “we have plenty of time to raise a family.”? Seriously a knot formed in my stomach when I read those words.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

