Chapter 2.65

1

—Josh—

I walked into the dimly lit bar and headed straight for a stool in front of the bartender.

2

“Hey, Mr. Yuen,” Hal, the bartender, greeted me. “The usual?” He was already reaching for a tumbler to make my drink of choice, a neat wrench.

3

“Yeah, thanks.” I accepted the glass gratefully and took a long drink. “How’s it been tonight, Hal?” I wasn’t even sure what I was asking, just making conversation. Passing the time. The only thing I was actually here looking for tonight was a good case of drunkenness.

4

“Pretty good.” He grinned at me. “Are you training for the new season yet?”

I drained my glass and motioned to him for another. “Not yet. We’ll start spring training in March.” The first night I’d come in here a couple of weeks ago, Hal had nearly fallen over himself. He was, evidently, a fan of me and the Ravens. Another time, I would’ve been pleasantly surprised at the attention; I still wasn’t fully used to being recognized outside of the stadium. Looking to drink away my pain from my break up, however, wasn’t a great time to be recognized though. Fortunately, I’d signed a couple of autographs for him, and, by the next time I came in, he’d calmed down. Now he was pretty good for a conversation whenever I came in.

5

“You play for the Ravens?”

I looked over to find that a brunette woman in a skimpy had claimed the seat next to me. “Yeah,” I answered simply, hoping she would take the hint and go away. I was here for the alcohol, not the ladies.

Although…why? Why shouldn’t I be here to get some if I felt like it? It had been a couple of months since I’d had sex. And I was single – not happily so, but single nonetheless. Who was I keeping myself for? Why the hell shouldn’t I flirt with this sexy woman? Maybe even take her home.

6

She wasn’t put off by my initial curtness. “What position do you play?”

“I’m a pitcher.” I needed to flirt, right? Shit, I’d never picked up a woman before. Brittany had come on to me. Alison…well, had been Alison.

7

She gave me a slow, sensual smile. “Are you a good hitter, too?”

Talking about getting right to the meat of the matter. I found a dark-edged smile crossing my face. “I am. I definitely am.” I offered her my hand. “Josh Yuen.”

8

She placed her hand in mine, leaning in and giving me a spectacular view down her dress. “Jess.”

“Just Jess?”

She winked one heavily shaded eye at me. “You’ll have to earn the rest.”

“I think I can do that.” I gestured to Hal. “Can I buy you a drink?”

9

Two drinks later and we were stumbling out of the bar to find a cab. Half an hour after that and we were falling through the front door of my apartment building. Five minutes later saw us sucking face in my bedroom. And a few minutes after that, well…


I woke up to an empty bed. I sat up, looking around my room. I hadn’t even noticed when the girl…what was her name? Jess? I thought that was it. I hadn’t even noticed when Jess had left.

10

I groaned and rubbed a hand over my hair. Shit. What had I done last night? Guilt clawed at my insides. But just as quickly as the guilt came, anger followed on its heels. I punched up from the bed and paced around the room. I had no reason to feel guilty. Alison left me. I was entitled to handle it however I wanted. I shouldn’t feel like I still owed her anything.

“She left me,” I reminded myself, speaking to the silent room. “I don’t have a girlfriend. I’m single.” Saying it aloud helped ease the persistent feeling that I’d somehow betrayed Alison. I hadn’t. I was unattached.

And just to drive that point home, I decided would go out again that night.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chapter 2.65

  1. julyvee94 says:

    Hehe Josh is making bad decisions. I think my theory is gaining ground here 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CitizenErased14 says:

    Somewhere in an alternate universe, an older and wiser Mari is screaming “Noooooo this is not how you deal with heartbreak!” Poor Josh 😦

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Simslover163 says:

    No, no, no, Josh, this is not you deal with a recent break up.

    Not revalent, but that green haired girl caught my attention in the first screenshot,

    #TeamWhatOnEarthAreYouDoingJosh #TeamSeriouslyStop

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Senna says:

    Oh, Josh. :/

    I get the feeling we’re going to see Jess again, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cathytea says:

    Oh, the road to self destruction is never sweet . .. let’s hope he finds an off ramp soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cshaner says:

    I can’t “like” this chapter but I wanted to acknowledge it. 😢

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

