Chapter 2.79

07-19-16_1-08-53 AM

—Josh—

“This is a great building,” Nichole said as we walked over from the car.

“Thanks. I got lucky an apartment was open when I was looking.” I led the way into the building and held the door for her, then headed up the stairs. I’d been seeing Nichole for a few weeks now, and we were actually really hitting it off.

“It’s about time you finally have me over to your place, Josh. I was beginning to wonder if you lived with your parents or something,” Nichole laughed.

07-19-16_1-12-07 AM

I laughed along with her and let us into my apartment. “I promise; nobody lives here but me.” The truth was, I was a lot more careful these days about who I brought back to my apartment. I’d let far too many one-night-stands in. I’d been very lucky that nobody had stolen anything…well, that one girl had stolen my underwear, but at least I hadn’t lost anything of value.

Who steals underwear? Really.

07-19-16_1-13-38 AM

“This is nice,” the young woman said appreciatively. “Although a big guy like you – don’t you feel like you’re living in a sardine can?”

I snorted softly and took a seat on the couch. “No. I don’t really need a lot of space.”

07-19-16_1-15-05 AM

She sat down next to me. “If you hadn’t proven it to me yourself, I’d wonder if you were really straight.”

I arched a brow at her. “What?”

She giggled and gestured to the apartment. “I’m just kidding. Straight guys places just usually aren’t so, well, nice. You must’ve hired a good decorator.”

07-19-16_1-15-48 AM

The smile slipped off my face as I looked around. The pictures on the walls, the plants, the books I had never read – I hadn’t picked any of it out. The radio, the coffee pot, the weights strewn on the floor…those were the only things I could see that were really mine. Everything else… “Ah, well, actually, my ex decorated the place,” I admitted uncomfortably. Jesus, how had I never realized before that I was living in a place with Alison stamped on it?

07-19-16_1-18-14 AM

“Your ex decorated? Like, the whole apartment?”

“Yeah. Somehow I just realized that.” I could what she was thinking all over her face. Rebound. Even though she wasn’t. But who wouldn’t think that? Hell, it was no wonder I was having trouble moving on from Alison. I was living in an apartment that I hadn’t just shared with her – she’d made it her own.

“Uh huh.”

07-19-16_1-19-30 AM

I cleared my throat. “Yeah, ah, Alison and I were together for several years. When I moved from my old place, I let her decorate. I hadn’t really thought about it in a long time.”

She still looked a little put off, but a small smile crossed her face. “Well, maybe if things work out with us, I can help you redo the place.”


07-19-16_2-18-51 AM

Things didn’t and she didn’t. It wasn’t her fault, and I don’t think it was mine either. We got along alright, but I don’t think either of us felt that click with each other. Last week, we both decided it was time to call it over.

However, I had made one change that I thought was going to work out for me.

“Well, what do you think?” I asked.

07-19-16_2-20-36 AM

Loralee and Nora stood in the middle of the empty room. “You bought a house,” Nora said incredulously. “Like, and actual house with rooms and a back yard and a pool.”

I snorted softly. “Yeah, I did.” I walked over to them and looked out of the window into the backyard. I could imagine my kids playing out there one day. “I decided it was time for a change, you know? I’m secure – hell, I’m past secure. It was time to invest in my future and shit.”

07-19-16_2-24-44 AM

“Now he’s sounding like Josh,” Loralee said wryly.

I rolled my eyes at her. “Anyway, I don’t know anything about making a place look good. I was thinking maybe the two of you could help me fix this place up.” I’d been to Loralee’s place and knew she had good taste…though I’d maybe try to steer her towards the greens instead of the oranges and blues, and Nora would probably keep her from getting too girlish, since she knew what I liked. And I could be damn sure that these were two people I wouldn’t be cutting out of my life, so there wouldn’t be any awkward reminders of them to haunt me.

07-19-16_2-29-45 AM

“So, what do you say?”

The two women smiled at me.


07-19-16_2-37-33 AM

A/N: So, I am super sorry for the hiatus. I’ve been feeling so burnt out with this story. It’s not that I don’t love the characters – they’re my favorites out of any of my stories! But all my creative energies have been devoted to the Thoreau’s for almost a year now. My rotation story, the More the Wilder, and my ISBI, Crazy Town, really don’t require any creativity from me; I just observe and write things down in a funny way. I needed to spend some time focusing on fresh characters and a new plot – hence Taken by Storme, by new apocalypse challenge story. Now that I’ve had some space to write what I felt like writing, I feel like I’m in such a better place to tell this story. Before, I was itching to get to generation three (still along way in the distance) because I wanted new characters to follow. I’ve given myself that with Storme (which also moves much more quickly, so it should, hopefully, continue to serve that same purpose). Thank you all so much for your patience. I am going to try to begin posting on an every-other-day schedule. I hope that this will leave me enough time to keep up with all of my stories.Thank you again, my wonderful readers; you guys are such a HUGE part of why I’m still writing.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Chapter 2.79

  1. julyvee94 says:

    Yay the thoreaus are back! Loved the chapter I feel like Josh is on the right track 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m so happy to see the Thoreau’s back! I’m glad you were able to get back into it.

    And happy to see Josh is on the right track.
    Is the shelf thing around the TV cc?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Senna says:

    Hooray for the return of the Thoreaus! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CitizenErased14 says:

    Aw, I’m happy for Josh! 🙂 But every single time I read a Josh chapter, I can’t help but think “If only he knew…”hahaha

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Simslover163 says:

    The Thoreaus return!! Yay!! Also, I’m glad to see Josh on track! You go, Josh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. EmmaLeeXOXO_C says:

    This was an awesome chapter. Love Josh.😍😍 He’s doing so much better

    Liked by 1 person

  7. azzywoods says:

    Yay, Thoreau’s are back! I’m super excited for any stories that might be coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. kaffepigen says:

    Yay welcome back! I’ve missed the Thoreau’s. I hope your break was what you needed to get going again and I look forward to reading more! I think that it was a great idea for Josh to move into something he hadn’t shared with Alison. A fresh start, so to speak. I love how he sees his future kids playing in his new garden. He’s so family oriented. It’s cute :3 i really enjoyed this update.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      If sims could have five traits, Hot Headed and Family Oriented would definitely be his other two! And I think my break was exactly what I needed because I’ve been writing up a storm!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. theplumbob says:

    Josh’s saga with all these girls kind of reminds me of How I Met Your Mother – we even do know he does end up getting married to a mystery lady and has a kid… But what led him to the right one? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tizy says:

    Welcome back! I missed your posts and the Thoreaus 🙂
    Now that I have seen Josh older in A2A i wonder every time I see him if Tobi and Stefan were born already

    Liked by 1 person

  11. maladi777 says:

    I has a feeling your heart wasn’t in it. Not that the last couple of chapters were bad. It was just a hunch. You can always do a time jump. Better that than not having fun writing.
    It seems things worked themselves out. Good to have the Thoreaus back. And Storme is great too. It’s new and fresh and I can feel your enthusiasm of writing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. cathytea says:

    I sure understand about the need for hiatus , and having blasted through the whole thing in a short time , I can very much appreciate the creative energy you’ve poured into this ! I’ll love talking with you about your creative process at book club!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. cshaner says:

    Well, obviously I met you pretty close to the start of TbS and loved that from the first chapter. I’ve only really started getting to know your Thoreau’s in the last week or so. I can tell you honestly as someone that just binged nearly the entire story over a few days that your writing, your story telling and your screenshots have only gotten more and more compelling as the story has unfolded.

    You are a great writer and really have developed these characters to have a life of their own. I’m in awe and strive to learn from you (and Citizen too!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      Thank you so much. ❤ I am still trying new things with my screenshots to improve them. I truly love telling this story, and I'm so glad I've got the Thoreau bug again.

      Like

  14. raerei says:

    Yay – I’m glad he realized he needed to MOVE ON ALREADY! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ninjapigsims says:

    Super excited to see Josh moving one step further in his life! 🙂 I know things didn’t work out with her, but Nichole is such a gorgeous Sim! So pretty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

