Chapter 2.83

07-20-16_6-08-42 AM

—Blake—

“Where is that amulet,” I muttered to myself as I directed my character around the ancient ruins of Karagoria, the world that Witchly took place in. “Fuck off, troll, I’m busy.” I couldn’t avoid the confrontation and dispatched the troll as quickly as I could. I couldn’t craft the armor I needed until I found that amulet…

07-20-16_6-11-22 AM

Blake. I’ve been yelling for you for five minutes.”

I jerked back and turned to look at my father. “What, Dad? I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you.” Shit shit. Don’t find the game box.

07-20-16_6-12-47 AM

“You would if you weren’t always playing these stupid games.” His eyes narrowed at the corner of my desk. Oh no. Maybe he won’t know the game? “Are you playing that fucking Witchly game?!”

I put the computer to sleep and got up. “Yeah, I bought it when it came out.” Hoping to distract him, I asked, “What did you need, Dad?”

“What are you doing playing a game that dyke made?” he shouted. “There’s probably all kinds of nasty shit in there!” He made a move for the computer like he was going to take the disc out – and probably snap it.

07-20-16_6-15-52 AM

“Huy!” Mom rushed into the room and took his arm. “You’re overreacting, honey. It’s just a game. I’ve watched him play it myself,” she assured him. I hid my surprise; Mom was lying for me? “It’s his decision what he does with his free time, Huy, and he bought the game himself.”

Dad glared at me, shrugging Mom’s hand away. “There are plenty of other things you could be doing, Blake.” He flicked his hand dismissively at the computer. “All those games are doing is rotting your brain. Now go take out the fucking trash.” He turned and stomped out of the room.

07-20-16_6-17-27 AM

Once he’d disappeared down the stairs, Mom let out a deep sigh; she looked very, very tired. “It might be a good idea if you played that game when your father isn’t home.”

“Whatever.” There she went again. Trying to find ways to work around him rather than dealing with him. Or, you know, leaving his ass. I ejected the disc, put it back into its box, and then hid it. I wouldn’t put it past Dad to come up here when I was gone and do something to it.

I brushed past Mom and headed for the stairs. “After I take the trash out, I’m going to the mall.”

07-20-16_6-19-04 AM

“You’ll miss dinner.”

“I really don’t care.”

07-20-16_6-21-42 AM

I grabbed the trash out of the kitchen and headed outside with it. Once I’d dumped it in the outdoor can, I pulled my phone out and called Danny. “Hey, what are you doing? You want to go to the mall?” I smiled when he agreed. “Cool. I’ll meet you there.”

07-20-16_6-28-39 AM

The two of us traipsed around the mall for a while. Neither of us had money to spend, really; I saved up what I could for games, and Danny was saving to buy a car. But it let me get out of the house – and spend time with Danny. My boyfriend, Danny. It had been just shy of two months since he’d first asked me out.

07-20-16_6-31-37 AM

“If only you could just move in with me,” Danny said, after I told him what had happened. He lived with his mom, who knew about the two of us.

“Wouldn’t that be nice. Somehow, I don’t think either of our parents would go for it.” His mom was cool but not that cool, and my dad…he might actually blow a gasket. “Can I come over tomorrow? I’ll bring Marked Ones, and we can play together.” I’d been so surprised when Danny had told me how into gaming he was. Looking at him, I never would’ve thought he was a geek.

07-20-16_6-34-13 AM

He grinned. “Hell yeah. I’ll tell Mom when I get home.” He glanced around us before he snagged my hand and pulled me into a corner behind a sign. “Have you window shopped enough?”

07-20-16_6-37-26 AM

I smiled and slid my arms around him. “Totally.” I let my body relax into his as he closed his mouth over mine. Who could possibly think of family drama while making out with a guy like Danny? Answer: nobody.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Chapter 2.83

  1. Senna says:

    Every word Huy says makes me want to punch him even more.

    In the face.

    With a metal folding chair. 😡

    Liked by 7 people

  2. azzywoods says:

    Huy, I swear I told you to fuck off at least twice. Blake and Danny are adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess Huy will be ticked off when he found out that his son is a *fag* (not that this writer has anything against gay people)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blake and Danny are so cute! *heart eyes*

    I didn’t think I could have any more hatred for Huy.
    Does he have a single redeeming characteristic? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Spirashun says:

    Aw they’re so cute together!

    But I have an awful feeling in the pit of my stomach about all this 😮

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Spottydog714 says:

    Yeah, why doesn’t Anna ‘leave his ass?’

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sonniejj says:

    Huy reminds me of an (even meaner) uncle Vernon.

    I love Blake and Danny together though ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. maladi777 says:

    Huy, the Tyrant, strikes again…
    I have a bad feeling about their upcoming game session. Things could go ugly with Huy fast if the boys get carried away in Blake’s room and Huy happens to enter. I can easily picture Blake as a runaway teen. Oh, Huy would explode if Blake found a refuge at Loralee’s.
    Sorry, my imagination flares up anytime I read a new chapter. 🙂

    Like

  9. cshaner says:

    ACK!! Maladi777’s comment reminded me that you just made the orphan challenge. I seriously hope Blake doesn’t run away. OMG…

    And how freaking sweet are Blake and Danny.

    I seriously cannot stand Huy and he’s not even the kind of character you love to hate (like our comment about Thomas Barrow earlier today). I just freaking hate him. He’s a mean and nasty guy. He’s prejudiced and loud and outspoken and is a bully to boot.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

