Chapter 2.91

09-05-16_10-28-08 PM

—Blake—

“I should’ve just met you at your house,” I muttered as Danny and I stepped into the house. For most people, stepping into their own house was probably a relief, like walking into their private sanctuary. Not so much for me. Especially not when Danny was with me.

“It’ll be fine,” Danny said with an easy smile. “We’re getting the game and then we’re out of here. No muss, no fuss, and you don’t have to waste the cab fare.” He’d finally saved up enough to get the car he wanted, and, I had to admit; it was pretty nice having a boyfriend with a car. Hell, it was still nice to have a boyfriend, period.

But that was all beside the point. Even though all we were doing was getting a disc from my room, it felt too risky to have Danny in the house. I didn’t even want my parents to know he existed. It was safer that way.

“Blake?”

09-05-16_10-29-45 PM

I cringed at the sound of my father’s voice. Mayday, mayday. “Yeah, Dad, it’s me.” I had to resist the urge to shove Danny back through the front door. Because that wouldn’t be suspicious at all.

Dad came in from the kitchen, a rather pleasant expression on his face. Evidently, he wasn’t in a shitty mood today. “Who’s this?” He asked, almost cheerfully.

09-05-16_10-34-26 PM

“This is Danny. He’s a friend from school. He came over to get a book.” Please let that be the end of this conversation.

Alas, it was not.

09-05-16_10-36-06 PM

“It’s good to meet you, Danny. You look like you’re on the football team. You are, aren’t you?” He continued on without waiting for a response. “You know, I really wanted Blake to go out for the team.” He cast a look at Blake, but it didn’t appear to kill the good mood he was in.

09-05-16_10-40-33 PM

Danny pointedly ignored almost everything Dad said. “I’m a tight end, sir.” His voice was all good boy respect. I hadn’t been able to fake that tone around my father in a long time.

Well, that was enough interacting for today.

09-05-16_10-46-08 PM

“Come on.” I headed up the stairs, hoping Dad wouldn’t try to talk to either of us anymore. We just need Witchly, and then we can get out of here. As I walked into my room, though, I had a bad feeling in the pit of my stomach.

Danny slid his arms around me from behind the second the door closed. “So, now that we’re up here….”

09-05-16_10-50-05 PM

My heart leapt into my throat, and I turned around, still enclosed in the circle of his arms. “Are you crazy? There’s a psychopathic bigot downstairs and you want to put the moves on me?” The second we got to his house – fuck, even into his car – I’d be happy to do almost whatever he wanted. We just had to make it that far.

09-05-16_10-51-21 PM

Danny grinned crookedly. “Come on. Haven’t you always wanted to stick it to the old man by making with all the gayness right here under his nose?”

I rolled my eyes at him, but, honestly, he wasn’t wrong, really. The idea of getting away with making out with Danny in my bedroom was a serious turn on – but that didn’t mean I was going to go through with it.

09-05-16_10-53-34 PM

“I don’t actually have a death wish, you know,” I murmured softly. Despite both my internal and verbal protestations, I didn’t step away from him. At the back of my head, a voice whispered, Just a kiss or two…He didn’t say anything to that. He just dipped his head closer and pressed his lips to mine.

Surely, just a few minutes won’t hurt…

09-05-16_10-55-27 PM

I sighed quietly and melted into his arms, just like I always did whenever he kissed me. I didn’t think I’d get enough of his kisses for as long as I lived. I fisted my hands in his shirt and pressed closer to him; now that I’d gotten a taste, my hunger for more had become ravenous.

And that’s when I heard the door open.

09-05-16_11-05-32 PM

“Blake, is your friend stay – ” Dad cut off with a strangled noise.

Danny and I jumped apart, but the damage was done. Panic clawed at my chest, making my heart pound in a rapid staccato.

“D-dad,” I started.

09-05-16_11-23-44 PM

I didn’t get another word out before pain exploded in my head, emanating from my cheek. The force sent me stumbling back until I knocked into the bed. He hit me. He really fucking hit me, I thought dazedly. Through watering eyes, I watched as Dad reared back for another blow. I expected it to land, but Danny jumped between us with a shout and shoved Dad back.

09-05-16_11-29-18 PM

“Get the fuck out of my house,” Dad seethed, murder in his voice. Real fear sliced through me.

Danny stood staunchly between us. “I think you’re the one who needs to get out before I call the cops.””

09-05-16_11-34-41 PM

Instead of scaring him into backing down, the threat just seemed to piss Dad off even more. He lunged at me again. I thought for sure that Danny would be more than enough to keep him away, but, a moment later, Danny’s heavy body slammed into the wall as Dad full-body shoved him out of the way. And then Dad’s hands were on me, one hand gripping my shirt and the other hitting me in the face again.

“Dad, please!”

09-05-16_11-35-53 PM

Dad got another swing in, but, as he brought his fist forward a third time, Danny caught his arm, hauling him away from me again. When Dad let go of my shirt to tussle with Danny, I dropped bonelessly onto the bed. Part of me thought I should get up and do something, but the rest of me was pretty consumed with the pain in my skull.

09-05-16_11-49-16 PM

“Huy!?” Mom’s shriek pierced the room, making the struggling duo freeze. “Oh, my God, what have you done?”

“Fucking faggot,” he spat before turning to face her. He shoved Danny away from him with a look of disgust. “I caught these two kissing.”

09-05-16_11-51-17 PM

They kept talking – or, rather, shouting -, but most of it was gibberish to me. My head was ringing, and part of me still couldn’t believe what was happening.

Danny sat down next to me, concern etched into his face. “Blake? Fuck.”

I looked blearily up at him. “Are you okay?” I asked. It hurt to move my jaw.

09-05-16_11-53-10 PM

“I’m fine. You need to go to the hospital.” He started pulling me to my feet

I shook my head – bad idea – and tugged myself away from him. “No, I’m fine.” My head was starting to feel clearer, at least. “Danny, you should go.”

09-05-16_11-56-20 PM

My father chose that moment to whirl around on us. “Get the fuck out of my house before I throw you out.” If he hadn’t been staring so intently at Danny, I would’ve thought he was talking to me.

“Blake, I’m not leaving you here with him.”

“He’s done hitting me,” I promised him with more certainty than I felt. “You’re not making it better by staying. Please, just go.”

09-05-16_11-59-41 PM

With obvious reluctance, Danny backed out of the room, glaring daggers at my father. After we heard the front door shut behind him, Dad turned his wrath back to me.

09-06-16_12-04-19 AM

“You are never seeing that boy again! And, so help me God, Blake, I will disown you if you don’t fix yourself. This is sick.” Appearing to be struck by inspiration, he pointed a finger at me. “You’re going to military school! They’ll make you into a real man.”

09-06-16_12-07-07 AM

“Huy, please, you’re overreacting,” Mom said, coming to stand between us. “There is nothing wrong with him.”

“It’s final! He’s going to military school, Anna. This perversion has to be dealt with.” He turned his back on the both of us and left the room, slamming the door behind him.

09-06-16_12-10-08 AM

Anna looked back and forth between me and the door before making a distressed sound and running out after him. When the door shut after her, I got up and locked it before shakily making my way back to my bed.

I reached up and gently probed at the side of my face; though pain flared at the touch, it wasn’t bad enough to suggest anything was broken. Was that it? Was he going to come back?

09-06-16_12-12-38 AM

I dug my phone out of my pocket. I needed to get out of the house, but, if Dad caught me trying to leave, I knew he’d do a lot worse than he already had. With shaking fingers, I tapped at the screen until Loralee’s number came up.

The line seemed to ring forever before Loralee’s harried voice greeted me. “Blake, hi. Look, I really can’t – “

09-06-16_12-13-02 AM

“Loralee, I need you to come and get me.”

As soon as she heard my voice – was that thin, shaky thing really my voice? – she went quiet. In the background, I heard voices and the clanging of pots. “What happened? Are you okay?”

09-06-16_12-13-56 AM

“I’m – I’m fine. Dad just – he caught me with Danny. I need you to come get me.”

My sister muttered the vilest swear I’d ever heard. “I can’t leave the restaurant right now. But someone is going to come and get you, okay? Just stay in your room and keep the door locked.” With that, the line went dead.


So, guess what? I did some serious editing to my outline for gen 2. Instead of a projected 150 chapters, gen 2 is ending at chapter 2.120! The end is shockingly close now!

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Chapter 2.91

  1. CitizenErased14 says:

    Danny and Blake were so dumb for making out with Huy in the house *facepalm* What did they expect????

    Ugh. We need to set Huy on fire and then push him off a cliff into a pit of barbed wire, please. -_- Blake, get OUT of the house and Anna, take the other kids and run too! And call the cops while you’re at it. Gah.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Senna says:

    Homophobia AND child abuse?

    Hey, congrats, Huy. You’re officially the biggest jackass in this story, and you deserve to die alone and unloved. (Sorry, I got rather extreme there)

    Seriously, I kept putting my finger up at him when all that homophobic garbage was spewing out of that yap of his.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. NoaLyn says:

    Oh my gosh Anna finally needs to get the f*** out of this house with her children!! After this she really should see how bad it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. julyvee94 says:

    I fucking hate huy right now. What a *beeeeeep*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mumei No says:

    Really? Oh my, Blake, you need to get out of there, this is a toxic place, really, go live with Loralee or anyone else, because to fight with it own childrem is not acceptable! Maybe they could reant a house? i dunno, but I just think that Huy should not live with him anymoe.( or anyone else, isn’t he a danger for the society?)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. EddieSims says:

    That pic of Blake’s bloody face raised my pores. I could never understand homophobic people like Huy. Just because you don’t believe in it, don’t like it, whatever, does not give you the right to be cruel and violent. Sigh…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Simslover163 says:

    *GASPS* OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG. Anna and kids, please, for God’s sake, get out of this poisonous environment!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hope there are bandages and ointment around the house. Otherwise, Blake needs to go to a doctor and get those wounds fixed up!!

    That moment Blake and Danny started to kiss, I was like, “The S.S Blanny is about to set sail.” That is until Huy walked in. Huy has to ruin everything, doesn’t he? I wish I could get a magic wand and cast a spell to either make him disappear or give him a full 360 degree personality change.

    Sorry for this long comment, but this chapter got me shocked for good. (Gathers inspiration for drama in my own legacy)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hailey says:

    This was a very difficult chapter to read. I feel sick. What a disgusting piece of shit Huy is. I’m praying that Blake gets the hell out of there and can live a happy, normal life.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sonniejj says:

    Anna, please, PLEASE, find the courage to leave this asshat. After everything he’s done, this has got to be the final straw, hasn’t it? I hope she sees that.

    Also, bless Danny and bless Loralee. They’re lovely. I kind of wish Blake could stay with Loralee and Tommy.

    #TeamPushHuyOffACliff #TeamHaveHuyEatenByGiantBees #TeamHaveHuySinkLikeTheTitanic

    Liked by 3 people

  10. SpurklyNinja says:

    That shot of Blake with blood on his face made me so infuriated! 😡 Huy, you DISGUSTING SHIT BAG! My middle finger just kept waving in front of the screen while I read Huy saying that Blake “needs to go to military school”. Ugh

    Thank god for Loralee, and for Danny being so strong and protective.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. maladi777 says:

    The moment Huy hit Blake, Anna should take all the kids and leave, even if it meant staying in a hotel.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. cshaner says:

    OMG!!! Huy is such a stain on society. Homophobia and child abuse. To seriously beat your child like that I’m so ashamed of his behavior!!! By contrast I’m so very proud of Danny for trying to protect Blake!

    I hope Anna can really see her future now. I hope Momma Lion kicks in now. I realize Anna is scared, but there are people who will help them until they can get on their feet including Loralee and Tommy!

    Missed the Thoreaus!! Happy to see them back!

    Liked by 3 people

    • JoieWilder says:

      I’m not sure if Anna can get away on her own. She might need some help.

      I’m happy to have them back too! School is so time consuming! But I’ve got a really great bunch of chapters coming up. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. shamanarza says:

    I’m really, really happy to see this chapter (I was eager to see some kind of progression of the plotline instead of a prolonged will-they-won’t-they). I like how visceral it was, and how well you wrote Huy’s reaction. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still on #TeamThrowHuyOffACliff, but it’s nice to see a well-written, consistent heel.

    And welcome back! Now I need to invent a cloning machine so you can write ALL THE THINGS

    Liked by 1 person

  14. azzywoods says:

    Like some others, I was literally shoving my middle finger at my phone screen. I hope Blake gets to stay with Loralee and Anna leaves. She must be able to get custody of the other kids if their father beat one of them up.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. raerei says:

    Go far far away and stay away Blake. I know you love your mom, but she should come to you – and right now, I’m kind of mad at her as well. – Not really since she’s a victim too, but she made a victim out of you as well, and that’s just not cool. Now that he’s moved on to hitting…he probably won’t stop. Leave and never ever come back.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. theplumbob says:

    If Huy does disown him, then this whole episode was actually a blessing in disguise. The less he has to do with that man, the better.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. ninjapigsims says:

    Oh my gosh. I can’t say that Huy’s reaction was completely unexpected though. At least Blake doesn’t have to hide any more. I hope Danny will stick with him through this. Poor Anna! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

