Chapter 2.93

Prepare yourselves everyone! Today is very special – following this chapter, there will be two more! In an hour, chapter 2.94 will post, and the next hour will be chapter 2.95!


09-06-16_6-37-46-pm

—Loralee—

I leaned in close to the bathroom mirror to check my make up one more time. This was the first occasion in a while I’d had to really get dressed up, and I wanted at least those two things to look perfect.

Satisfied, I left the bathroom to find Tommy still fussing with his tie in front of the bedroom mirror.

09-06-16_6-44-35-pm

I laughed softly and took his hands. “It’s perfect, honey.”

“I know; you can hardly tell it’s a clip on,” he said with a crooked smile.

09-06-16_6-47-16-pm

I rolled my eyes but gave it a little tug just to make sure he wasn’t actually trying to wear a clip on tie today. “Why are you still getting dressed anyway?”

“Chastity got here early while you were in the shower. So I had to stop and get Logan ready to spend the night with her.”

“It’s a shame he won’t be able to go,” I lamented. He’d come down with the worst head cold two days ago, though. Not only was he feverish and snotty, but he also had the worst temperament when he was sick. Aunt Chastity had been nice enough to watch him for us.

“Let’s just hope that Jasper doesn’t make his appearance there.”

09-06-16_6-56-59-pm

I laughed as Tommy bent down to rub by heavily-pregnant belly. “I’ll cross my legs if I have to!” I was only partially joking, but, hopefully, it wouldn’t come to that. I wasn’t due for two weeks and change.

09-06-16_6-58-19-pm

“You heard your mommy, Jasper. So it won’t do you any good to try to make an early exit,” Tommy said with a kiss to my belly.

I shooed him away so he could finish getting dressed and slipped into my flats. I missed wearing heels, but I’d learned last time that pregnancy wreaked havoc not only on one’s balance but on the size of one’s feet.

09-06-16_7-01-47-pm

A few minutes later, we were both presentable. I took my husband’s hand and headed out of the house.


09-06-16_8-13-24-pm

“Oh, thank God you’re here,” Parker said as soon as we walked through the doors of the old Willow Creek plantation.

I walked over to him. “What’s going on?”

09-06-16_8-15-46-pm

“The bride is having a meltdown.”

“Oh, dear. I better see if I can help. Where’s the bridal suite?”

When Parker pointed me down the hall, I walked down to the last door at the end. Inside, I could hear several female voice. I knocked and stepped inside.

09-06-16_8-19-30-pm

Right by the door, Nora, Theresa, and Aunt Hadley were all clustered around Krys who stood at the center of three floor-length mirrors.

“I can’t go out there like this,” the bride sniffled. “I’m a whale.”

Of course that’s what the meltdown is about.

“Ladies, why don’t we give Krys some breathing room,” I suggested.

09-06-16_8-22-59-pm

Aunt Hadley sighed softly before sitting down across the room. “Maybe you can get through to her.” From the tiredness in her voice, it sounded like they’d been trying to calm her down for a while now.

09-06-16_8-26-20-pm

I took Krys’s arms in my hands. “Krys, look at me. I’m a whale. I ought to be wearing a Wide Load sign. Small children point at me with fear when I pass by.” I smiled at the slightly older woman. “You’re beautiful, Krys. Josh’s brain is going to melt out of his ears when he sees you.”

09-06-16_8-27-45-pm

She wiped her eyes and glanced at one of the mirrors. “I know I’m being ridiculous.” She rested a hand on her baby bump. “I just feel like we should’ve postponed the wedding until after the baby was born.”

“Don’t be silly. Nobody is going to even notice that you’re pregnant. All anybody is going to see is how beautiful you are and how in love you and Josh are.”

09-06-16_8-29-32-pm

“She’s right,” Aunt Hadley said with a smile. “Why put off this wonderful day? Everything is perfect.”

09-06-16_8-33-07-pm

Krys wiped her eyes again and then let out a weak laugh. “Oh God, I’ve ruined my make up.”

Theresa grinned. “I’m on it.”

A few minutes later after Theresa had started fixing Krys’s make up, the bride’s smile started to shine a little brighter and excitement started to sizzle through the air. I smiled and sat down next to my aunt. It wouldn’t be long now.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chapter 2.93

  1. CitizenErased14 says:

    Awwww yay for Josh and Krys! A nooboo on the way AND a lovely wedding. ❤ I'm really happy for Josh. He deserves this happiness, and he's finally getting the family he always wanted. 🙂 *cough*MinusTwoPoorLonelyBabiesWhoWantTheirDaddy*cough*

    And yay for a second Tommalee baby on the way too! 😀 Lots of joy and happiness going on. This was a nice way to do a little time jump!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cshaner says:

    OMG!!! I love that Josh and Krys are getting married! Krystina truly was one of my absolute favorites from D2D and your take on her for your story is wonderful and she’s absolutely the perfect woman for Josh. And can I say how gorg her dress is as well?? OMG…/faint

    I also am absolutely head over heels for Loralee’s kimono for her wedding clothing. And could Tommy be anymore handsome. I still marvel at the transformation from “Hey Rich Girl!” to now as a loving husband and father. This chapter reminded me of all the reasons I love our Thoreaus!!

    And woo hoo for two more today!! /eye’s Citizen *cough*

    Liked by 2 people

    • JoieWilder says:

      I have been waiting for the right time to use both those dresses for so long. XD Even big and pregnant, Loralee looks so beautiful in hers. (As does Krys :P).

      Tommy has changed so much. I never planned on having him be such an important character, either. But as soon as he returned in gen 2, he and Loralee had such chemistry.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. kaffepigen says:

    Great one. Looking forward to the next two!

    Krys is gorgeous! I guess we’ve had a bit of a timejump here 😉 it works well though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Chapter 2.94 | The Thoreau Legacy

  5. witchazard says:

    Wedding babies I feel like I missed something but I’m positive I been keeping up with this series. Gotta love time skips they make everything confusing as hell. Also yay for Krys and Josh and not one but two nooboos I just love nooboos. Nooboos Nooboos don’t touch my nooboos, nooboos nooboos back off their all mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Chapter 2.95 | The Thoreau Legacy

  7. SpurklyNinja says:

    Oh wow, yay for Josh and Kris! And for more nooboos! Such sweet times! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. azzywoods says:

    Congrats to both couples!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. maladi777 says:

    A wedding! And more nooboos on the way! What a positive chapter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sonniejj says:

    Yaaay! Big time jump but weddings and babies are always great in my book!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. raerei says:

    Woot – and yay for weddings!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hailey says:

    Great chapter! So beautiful. ❤ I know the feeling of waiting for the opportune moment to use a specific dress. 😀 I love the way this chapter ties up some time skips. Can't wait to see what happens next!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. theplumbob says:

    Oh hello there Mr Time Jump! Yay for Krys! Yay for the nooboos on the way! Yay for how beautiful the bride is!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. ninjapigsims says:

    Oh Krystina! She looks so devastatingly beautiful in her wedding dress – that exposed back and lace suits her so well! I’m so happy for her and Josh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

