Chapter 2.105

10-19-16_7-13-18-pm

—Loralee—

My hands refused to stop shaking. All that day, I’d been a nervous wreck, but the closer it had gotten to time to go, the worse it was. Now that I was almost ready to leave, I could barely even use my hands. Behind me, Tommy’s warm, callused hands covered mine and fixed the necklace clasp I was struggling with.

10-19-16_7-15-30-pm

He smiled gently, meeting my eyes in the mirror. “Everything is going to be amazing tonight, Loralee.”

“It might not. A hundred things could go wrong.”

10-19-16_7-16-56-pm

He turned me to face him and took both of my hands in his. “Loralee Thoreau, you stop worrying right now. Everything is just the way it’s supposed to be, and tonight is going to go off without a hitch.”

His calming voice did more than the actual words did. I took a deep breath and let it out slowly. The trembling in my hands eased. “You’re right. I just can’t believe it’s here.” After saving for years, finding just the right location, and a thousand different setbacks, the grand opening of my very own restaurant, Tomalee, was upon us.

10-19-16_7-18-01-pm

Tommy leaned in and kissed me slowly. Then he leaned back to grin at me. “Well, you better start believing because we have to leave in fifteen minutes.”

I rolled my eyes and gave him a shove. “Way to keep me calm.” I left the bedroom and found Logan at the refrigerator. “I hope you’re just getting something to drink. No sweets until after dinner, Logan.”

10-19-16_7-19-51-pm

The boy made a huffing sound and shut the door without getting anything. “But Mama.”

“Have you done your homework? Macy is going to check it tonight before you get anything for dessert.” Speaking of Macy, where was she? She was our usual babysitter and almost always arrived much earlier than when we’d said we had to leave, but she seemed to be cutting it close that night.

10-19-16_7-22-42-pm

My son grumbled and trudged off towards his bedroom while Tommy shook his head. “That boy definitely got his study habits from my side of the family.” He shot a look over at me. “I feel like I owe you an apology for that.” As if any first grader ever cared about homework.

10-19-16_7-23-46-pm

“You’re hilarious. Where is Macy? We have to get going.” Of course, it wouldn’t be a huge inconvenience if we had to leave a few minutes late, since we were already planning to arrive well before I actually needed to be there. Still, I wanted to be early in case anything needed my attention.

“Look, there she is now.” Headlights flashed outside as a car pulled up at the curb. Tommy rubbed a hand over my back. “She’s just running a little late today. It happens.” While he went to the door to let the teenage babysitter in, I forced myself to take deep, calming breaths.

Calm your tits, Lor. It’s going to be alright. It’s not like it’s the biggest night of your life or anything… I gave myself a mental pinch. That was so not helping.

10-19-16_7-34-07-pm

I put a smile on my face and went over to say hi to Macy, who was in the process of apologizing profusely to Tommy for being “late.”

“Really, don’t worry about it,” he said before turning to me. “Well, looks like we need to get a move on.”

10-19-16_7-37-28-pm

I nodded. Inside, butterflies did a Cirque du Solei routine in my stomach. “Let’s do this.” I took my husband’s hand and walked outside with him.

10-19-16_7-45-30-pm

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chapter 2.105

  1. EddieSims says:

    Can’t wait to see the inside of the place!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hailey says:

    Congrats, Loralee! What an accomplishment! And you’ve got a handsome husband in a swanky tux right by your side. Ooooh la la!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CitizenErased14 says:

    Awww yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cshaner says:

    Such an important night for Loralee and Tommy too!! So thrilled for them at this start to the next chapter!! Entrepreneurship and owning their own restaurant!!

    Long deserved!! Best of luck Loralee!!

    ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theplumbob says:

    Yay! So happy for her, she’s worked very hard for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SpurklyNinja says:

    So happy for Tomalee! Can’t wait to see the rest of the restaurant! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me

