Chapter 2.115

12-18-16_7-47-55-am

—Loralee—

The moment I walked into the house, relief poured through me. Tommy’s suitcase was sitting next to the bedroom door. He was finally home.

“Babe?” I said as I walked towards the bedroom. I pushed the door open – and there he was.

12-18-16_7-49-02-am

A smile – the big, genuine smile that I knew – split his face. His arms opened wide and then I was in his embrace, his arms wrapped tightly around me and holding me flush against his body. Even though I’d been separated from him for far longer in high school, this time apart had felt so much harder.

12-18-16_7-50-02-am

He pressed his face into my neck. “I missed you.”

“You too,” I said softly into his shirt.

“Where are the boys?”

“Mama picked them up today. They’re going to a movie.”

12-18-16_7-50-43-am

He grinned and pulled me into a deep kiss.


12-18-16_8-07-53-am

We didn’t reemerge from the bedroom until Mama texted to tell me that she was on her way back with the boys. In a loose t-shirt and shorts, I went into the kitchen with a noticeable spring in my step.

Finally, life can get back to normal.

12-18-16_8-10-31-am

Before I reached the fridge, Tommy’s voice drew my attention back to him. “Hey, babe? Can we talk for a minute?”

How much do I not like the sound of that. With a frown, I turned back to him. “Yeah, of course.”

12-18-16_8-11-24-am

He sat down heavily at the bar, bracing his arms on the granite countertop. For a long moment, he just looked at his hands. Finally, he looked at me. “Mom’s not doing well. I think her meds are failing.”

Even though I’d expected that, it was hard to hear. “Is her doctor going to try something new?”

“If there’s something new to try, maybe.” He sighed deeply and rubbed his face. “But she’s gone really downhill. She needs someone around to help her. I think it started a while ago, but she and Dad kept it quiet.”

12-18-16_8-13-15-am

“I’m so sorry, baby,” I said quietly. Everything just had to hit him all at once, didn’t it?

He let out a deep breath, like he was bracing himself. “She needs someone to take care of her. I know what a drastic change it’d be, but it’s my mom. We need to move to Windenburg.”

My jaw dropped. “What?

12-18-16_8-16-15-am

“She needs me, Loralee.” His voice was pleading. “She’s alone – she’s completely alone. I have to be there for her.”

“We can’t just up and move to Germany!’ I cried incredulously. “Our lives are here.”

12-18-16_8-18-49-am

“And my mother­ – my sick mother – is in Windenburg. You think I haven’t thought about this? Mom can’t come here; her doctors – the only ones who ever were able to help her – are there.”

“Tommy, I understand that.” I spread my hands out in front of me. “But there has to be a middle ground. Why don’t we hire someone who can look in on her or stay with her?”

12-18-16_8-19-41-am

His face transformed into a scowl. “You can’t just throw money at this!”

I recoiled with a shocked gasp. I didn’t think Tommy had ever raised his voice to me like that before. “I – I didn’t – “

“Wouldn’t you do it for your parents? This is what I have to do.”

12-18-16_8-20-43-am

My breath froze in my chest. “What are you saying?”

“Tomorrow I’m taking a leave of absence from work. I have to be with Mom at least a few days out of the week, so I’ll split my time, I guess, since you’re being unreasonable.”

My dismayed shock turned swiftly to anger. “Unreasonable? You can’t just spring this on me and expect me to just agree to move to Windenburg of all places! My life – our lives – are here, in Oasis Springs. My family – Tommy, the restaurant is here. How can you expect me to drop everything – everything I’ve worked for – to move to the other side of the world?” Couldn’t he see how impossible what he was asking was? Especially when we hadn’t even explored all the options.

“It’ll be hard, but we have to do it. It’s my mom, Loralee. I have to be there for her.”

12-18-16_8-22-06-am

“No,” I said harshly, pointing a finger at him. “You want to. There are other options. Other things we can do to help her. We don’t have to uproot our lives – “

Tommy threw his hands up. He pushed to his feet, pacing around the room. “Why can’t you understand?” He sounded like he was on the verge of tears. “I can’t just hand her off to some stranger and go back to life as normal.” He vigorously rubbed his face and held up his hands helplessly. “I’m sorry, Loralee.”

“You’re really going to do this.” My voice was hollow; any trace of anger had vanished, but so had all the sympathy I’d felt. I was just numb with shock now.

He nodded. “I’ve got a flight back in a few days.”

12-18-16_8-25-09-am

Tears burned at my eyes. So he’d known from even before I’d welcomed him home that he was turning around and leaving again. I turned away from him and pressed my hands against my face, struggling to collect myself.

Behind me, Tommy was silent. Then I heard him walk away.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Chapter 2.115

  1. witchazard says:

    Well I don’t know what Tommy thought was going to happe, but making decisions for your family on your own never goes well. Separation is looming or worse😔 I mean yes it’s your mother but he has see how unreasonable this request is.

    Liked by 3 people

    • JoieWilder says:

      He’s not thinking as clearly as he usually would be, unfortunately. If he were in his right mind, I think he’d still want to move, but he’d have been a lot more tactful about it. As it is…well, you see how that worked out.

      Like

  2. Senna says:

    I can’t help but think by the time he realizes this probably isn’t a good idea (yes, his mother is sick, but he could’ve at least discussed before making any huge decisions), it’ll be too late.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh crap. What a stubborn little shit! I understand what he’s saying, but as a married couple, you canNOT make decisions like that on a dime and not consult the other half. That is completely unfair. I would be furious. Plus, does he not know she’s pregnant?! Their lives are changing in more ways than just his side of the family. Don’t be selfish, Tommy!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Spottydog714 says:

    *face-palm* Really, Tommy?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. CitizenErased14 says:

    I can understand where Tommy is coming from — that’s his MOTHER. And I noticed Loralee avoided his question when he said “wouldn’t you do the same”. I think because she knows the answer is yes.

    All that being said, I think he went about this very poorly. He didn’t say “I think we need to start considering a move to Windenburg” or “Hey, what do you think?” He presented it as an absolute “We are going”. This is the type of decision that takes a lot of time and consideration.

    So I guess I’m a little split on who I side with here. I 100% understand Tommy’s reasons but if my husband sprang that on me the way tommy did, I don’t think I’d be too happy either!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. kaffepigen says:

    Damn,.. I get that he has to be there for his mom but he is really the Ole being unreasenable. Btw it’s good to have you back 🙂 i’ve misser the thoreau’s 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. maladi777 says:

    What a situation! I completely understand Tommy. He just lost his father and there’s a very real possibility he’ll loose his mother too soon. Of course he’ll do everything to be with her and spend time with her because he didn’t get the same chance with his father. The best thing for Loralee to do now is let him stay with his mother and promise to discuss the issue with him again later when she’s had time to process it and also cosult with her family etc. Tommy can’t ask her to make the decision right there on the spot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      How refreshing! I was beginning to think no one would really be on his side. I agree that would be the most sensible thing for them to do, but whether that is what happens or not…well,you’ll just have to keep reading.

      Liked by 2 people

  8. theplumbob says:

    Well, he should have probably presented it differently, but to be honest it would just be like throwing her a bone because it’s not like he’d ever decide on something else or that she’d have any real imput/affect the decision. So I suppose this is more honest, just not giving her a lot of time to process.

    I hope Loralee becomes more supportive with this regardless, her husband needs her right now. And, if we look at the cold and pragmatic facts, the move to Windenburg is only temporary. It’s not ideal but Tommy didn’t ask for this. She needs to try to find a way to make it work. She could lease the restaurant space for the time being?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. DanaColourful says:

    I can see why Tommy has a hard time letting some stranger take care of his mum. If Seen situations like that in real Life. But I don’t see how uprooting his wife and children would be a better idea. I hope He realizes that at some point. Hey can’t just expect loralee to abandon her restaurant and everything she worked for and He can’t just send his children of to a foreign country. They don’t speak a word of english. He is not in the right mindset to make decisions like that right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      Yeah, Tommy is very adamant. Since he’s just lost his dad, it’s of such extreme importance to him to be there for his mom. But he’s asking a lot, possibly too much.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. DanaColourful says:

    *I’ve Not If 😂

    Like

Talk to me

