Chapter 2.117

12-20-16_3-35-38-am

—Alison—

“I’m not losing to you this time, twerp,” Luc said with mock seriousness.

“Pffft.” Trevor rolled his eyes. “You suck at horseshoes.”

“Oh, because you’re such a master at it.”

12-20-16_3-37-57-am

I smiled as we walked through the woods towards our campsite. “I think you two need to have a tournament. Best two out of three.”

“We’d need a prize,” Luc said.

“Winner gets the best of the toasted marshmallows,” I said with a smile. “I’ll referee.”

12-20-16_3-39-54-am

“Then I’m totally winnin’,” Trevor grinned. He walked over to the horseshoe pit and rubbed his hands together. “Come on, Luc. Let’s do dis.”

While keeping one eye on the two of them, I went to the ice chest and took out all the makings for sandwiches. I listened to the light-hearted trash talk of my boys while I put together the ham-and-cheese’s.

My boys.

At some point, Trevor had become more than a temporary fixture in my mind. He’d grown so much since the first day he’d arrived almost five months ago. He was respectful to me and Luc. He’d made friends at school – good ones, not ones that made my hair turn gray. And, somewhere along the way, I’d started to think of this troubled little foster as mine.

I’d cared deeply about all three of the foster children Luc and I had had before Trev, but I knew it was different this time. I’d certainly never expected to feel that way, but there was no denying it.

12-20-16_3-44-31-am

After I’d made the sandwiches for each of us, I lit the campfire and sat down with my sandwich to watch the rest of the “tournament.”

A short while later, Luc crowed with victory and strutted away from the pit. “That’s right. Don’t try to come between this man and his ‘mallows.”

12-20-16_3-47-45-am

Trevor dropped into a camp chair with a sandwich. “Man, that ain’t fair.”

“Isn’t,” I corrected. “If you want to feel good about yourself, you can kick my butt at it later.” We’d found out very quickly yesterday that I was very, very bad at the game.

“It isn’t any fun to win that way.”

12-20-16_3-56-02-am

Luc grinned, taking his own seat. “That’s a good man. There’s no honor in beating an incompetent.”

“Hey!” I wagged my finger at the both of them. “If you two keep up with that, the Marshmallow Master isn’t making anything for either of you.” A cook I may not be, but I somehow had a magic touch with all things campfire.

12-20-16_3-57-03-am

“’Iight, man, shut up now before you mess us up.” Trevor finished his sandwich. “Cause I’m ready for dessert.”

“I’d never stand between you and your sweets,” Luc said with a laugh.


We got back from Granite Falls late Sunday night. I had thought ahead and taken Monday off as well as the Friday I actually needed for the trip. I was exceptionally glad for it when I got up that morning to take Trevor to school.

12-20-16_4-06-38-am

When I got home, I dropped onto the couch next to Luc. He started and looked at me sleepily; he’d evidently started to doze off despite the morning news on the TV. While he and I were zombies, Trevor had seemed perfectly fine. He should’ve; he’d slept the entire ride home.

“Everything go okay?” He asked after a yawn.

I nodded. “Same as usual.”

12-20-16_4-07-52-am

I leaned into his side, resting my head on his shoulder. His hand came up to play with my hair. “Luc, if we were ever going to have a kid for keeps…”

“It’d be Trev,” he finished for me, a soft smile on his face.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chapter 2.117

  1. kaffepigen says:

    This Was awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CitizenErased14 says:

    So sweet! I hope they end up adopting him 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, keep Trevor! He’s such an interesting character

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SpurklyNinja says:

    Aaa! So happy to hear that they’re thinking of adopting him!

    Like

Talk to me

