Chapter 1.02

I’m the best programmer at Rainy Day. It took me a couple of years, but, in my own humble opinion, I’m now a master at it. Even my boss has had to ask me to help him at times. The only issue – the only kink in my plans – is that there aren’t any positions open higher up. I’m stuck in a holding pattern waiting for a promotion opportunity. I suppose it would be arrogant to think they’ll just clear the way for me.

1

I checked myself out in the mirror as I got ready for my date. I still catch myself spending most of my time shut in my house, but I try harder now to make time for a regular date night with Huy. Yes, I’m still seeing him. We actually just had our first anniversary a few months ago; he had to remind me about it. I’ve never found those kinds of dates very important.

I was just about to head out when my phone rang. The caller ID flashed Shirley’s name, so I let it go to voicemail. She’d assume that I’m in the middle of a gaming stream and unable to answer. So far, I’ve been able to keep things casual with her. Very casual. I’ve never even been to her house, though I know she lives in Willow Creek. Things are pretty casual with Huy, too, but I let him throw around the girlfriend word, so it’s at least that serious. They’ve got no idea about each other, either, which I know makes me a horrible person. After a year of this, I’ve just accepted my terribleness.

To be honest, I’m really thankful to be seeing two people. I’ve told Huy that I’m not ready for marriage or living together, but sometimes he starts saying things that suggest he wants to get serious. That’s right about the time that I take some distance, miss a date night for “work,” and invite Shirley over after work more often. After a cool down, I’m not “swamped with work” anymore and we go on happily until I decide Huy needs another cool down period.

Frankly, I’m not sure if Huy is really my forever guy. There’s nothing wrong with him; he’s a great guy and we spark together. Am I in love with him? Could I spend my life happily with him? Or Shirley, for that matter? I really don’t know. It’s hard to imagine spending my whole life with one person. I will, I’m sure. I want a stable life for my children, after all. Just…I’m not very sure who that person will be.

I shook myself and left the house. This was hardly the time for introspection. Besides, it’ll be a long time still until I’m ready to settle down. I pushed all those thoughts away and met Huy outside of the nightclub.

2

He smiled and kissed me. “You look great.”

“Thank you.” I tucked myself under his arm with familiar ease and we went into the Blue Velvet.

“A drink first or shall we dance?”

“A dance.” I took his hand and pulled him onto the dance floor. “You know I love to dance with you.”

3

We danced for a while, then Huy got us drinks and we sat down to rest.

“So, how was work?”

“Crazy!” I rolled my eyes. “There’s this new guy who works on the floor below me. He thinks he’s Watcher’s gift to gaming or something. He likes to come upstairs and just hang out or something. Yesterday, he called me ‘little lady.’”

Huy threw his head back and laughed. “He didn’t.”

“Swear to Watcher!” I laughed and finished my drink. “He’ll learn soon.”

“I know he will,” Huy agreed. “You bust his balls, baby.”

“You know I will.” I grinned. “So, how are things with you?”

“Work is good. A little boring, but that’s kind of nice, in comparison.”

“What’s going on?”

4

He rolled his eyes. “Family drama, what else? Connor got laid off last month, you know, and now he won’t get a job. He just lays around the house all the time. Octavia just makes snide remarks to everyone about how successful she is. Chastity seems to be the only sane one besides me.”

“Have I mentioned lately how glad I am to be an only child?” I couldn’t even imagine the nightmare of growing up with three siblings.

He snorted. “I do love Octavia, but sometimes I wonder why Mom and Dad adopted her.”

6

We talked for a while longer and the conversation turned flirtatious. We both decided to leave and could hardly get out of the door and keep our hands off each other at the same time.

7

Once at my place – it was always my place – we fell onto the couch together.

AN: Sorry this chapter isn’t as long as the first. That one was a little longer because it was the beginning set up. This will probably be the average length, but I’ll try to update quickly.

This entry was posted in The Thoreau Legacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chapter 1.02

  1. cathytea says:

    I like the introspective quality your narrator assumes at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Virtualee says:

    I like that Camille she is independent, she knows exactly what she wants and gets it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kaffepigen says:

    This is exciting! I wonder if she’ll ever choose between them or if she’ll just dump them both

    Liked by 1 person

  4. zefiewings says:

    “I wonder why they adopted my sister” What! Lmao that was terrible to say! I had to try so hard to laugh out loud because its 3AM and my rommies are sleeping.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cshaner says:

    I really like that she knows herself. She realizes what she’s doing isn’t really fair or traditional.

    She seems knows this about herself and doesn’t apologize that she’s stringing Huy along by cooling off and then heating back up again in cycles ‘as needed’.

    Her confidence is inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JoieWilder says:

      That is a really interesting way to look at it! You’re the first person who has ever found her behavior inspiring, haha

      Like

Talk to me